blog status

October 29, 2010

Sigh. You can see that things have gone quiet here. I’m moving on to new projects and interests. But I’m hoping to set aside a bit of time to see how… um… cataclysmic… the changes in the game are going to be for my database.

Everything is set up to keep the data pages up to date without a lot of effort on my part. So long as the armoury data doesn’t change too much, that is! If I can find a way to keep the site current I’ll do that.

But no promises as to timescale. Sorry.

13 Responses to “blog status”

  1. Whatthe Says:

    Thanks for the update mate. Hope you continue doing well on whatever else takes the biggest chunk of your time. But for what is worth, let me add: What you’ve made is an immensely invaluable resource that before you came along simply was not available to a 12 million + gaming population. The people need you, man. Keep us in mind whenever you have some minutes to spare on it.

    Cheers

  2. relysh Says:

    Hello! I realize this is untimely – but i was curious if you could serve up some data about the feat of strength “Insane in the Membrane” – how many people have it, and then broken down by faction, race, class, etc :D

    Just curious! I’ve been looking everywhere for this information and you seem to be the one most likely to be able to get it.

    Apologies if this is not the proper place for a request (or if you don’t even take requests/ideas/etc)!

    Thanks for all this amazing data!! I hope you return for Cataclysm!

  3. zardoz Says:

    Unfortunately I don’t do achievements, but there are a couple of other sites that do. They may have what you’re looking for.

  4. Pete Says:

    Hi Zardoz,

    Massive appreciation for you work – was wondering why there doesn’t appear to be any overall realm population stats like your older site used to show, and if you have that data at all? Sites like WoW Census rely on addons and have pretty awful data for some servers.

    Great to see the data updated for 3.3.5, just wondering if that up-to-date information was available for realm populations.

  5. Nina Says:

    Dude, Melbourne resident too?! I used to pop in here once in a blue moon to see class, race, and gender ratios, but only today saw your “where is Zardoz” thing.

    Kinda scary.

  6. zardoz Says:

    Pete: There was another wow data miner that did realm population – I don’t do it because I take a sample and don’t try to get an exhaustive list of toons. FWIW, some of my data – eg race and class distributions – seem to suggest that the WoW census data is not too bad overall. But they probably don’t give a good picture of realm-by-realm counts. Unfortunately the effort required to get that data is pretty massive.

    Nina: Yes indeed, Melbourne. The amazing thing is that the person who does WoWPopular lives in Melbourne too!

  7. David Says:

    I just recently found your site and think its fascinating. You did some amazing work here. I was hoping to see some new info once cata is released especially anything PvP related =D

    -Best of luck to you in your new endeavors

  8. zardoz Says:

    Thanks. I might get back to this at some time in the future.

  9. coldbear Says:

    Would love if you could extract some Horde/Alliance win/loss percentages per battlegroup per battleground.

  10. zardoz Says:

    Sorry but I doubt that I’ll be back on this project again. Blizz have changed too many things in the new battle.net armoury to make it worth my while to get things going again.

  11. coldbear Says:

    Arrighty. Thanks for your contributions to the community, and best of luck with any new projects!

    …I miss Oz. Killer good place.

  12. BET Says:

    Just another note of appreciation for all that you provided. I learned a ton from it as a fairly new player who enjoyed analyzing the game.

    Totally understand how you would not want to start over from scratch again when you have new interests. Good luck with them!

  13. zardoz Says:

    Thanks for those kind words. It might be possible to get the site going again. I’ll have more free time in a month or so.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

