hunters now the hunted?

December 11, 2008

At the moment I’m busy updating the class reports based on my new WotLK scan data. So I haven’t had a great deal of time to poke around inside the data itself.

Still, some differences stand out so clearly that they are hard to ignore. One thing that struck me is the change in class composition between level 70 and level 80.  Here are the numbers:

Level 80

Level 70

Change

Hunter

8.3%

14.1%

-5.8

Rogue

8.6%

12.8%

-4.2

Warlock

7.7%

11.1%

-3.4

Mage

10.3%

12.2%

-1.9

Priest

9.8%

10.7%

-0.9

Shaman

8.0%

7.8%

0.2

Warrior

12.7%

11.4%

1.3

Druid

11.2%

9.2%

2.0

Paladin

14.5%

9.1%

5.4

Death Knight

8.9%

1.5%

7.4

I’m assuming that what these figures tell us is that players are making particular choices about which of their toons to take to 80 first. Otherwise the class distribution would be much the same at both levels (leaving aside death knights, where there is no pre-existing pool of toons at 70).

To me it looks like hunters and rogues have lost out in the nerf game and the good ol’ pally has become the class du jour in Northrend.

One Response to “hunters now the hunted?”

  1. Okoloth Says:

    I have to admit, I am one of those levelling my paladin before my hunter 🙂


Leave a Reply

