the 19 twink warlock

April 8, 2009

I’ve got a test page up for my BG twink reports. Check it out here. I’m still mucking around with various parameters – especially the selection criteria for toons in the sample, and the filtering to hide the long tail of odd individual choices that seems to appear in every aspect of WoW.

On that last point, the danger is that some important twink items are likely to be difficult to obtain, and therefore less popular, so I’m reluctant to do too much filtering of the results. The most popular choices may not be the best choices here.

The results do match the various guides on the net for twinking warlocks so I’m reasonably happy with progress to date. The thing that concerns me is that the sample size is very small – even with a million characters in my database, by the time I try and select a sample of the most powerful BG toons at each x9 level, I’m down to a hundred or so. That’s not a lot.

For that reason I nearly decided not to show any percentage popularity measures – the exact numbers just aren’t all that meaningful. But some choices are clearly a lot more popular than others and it seemed important to report that.

Anyway, any feedback would be good, especially if you have a twinked 19 warlock. If you think the report misses important details, I’m happy to hear that too. Make your argument calmly and I’ll take it into consideration. This type of report is an experiment and it just may not work so well because of the small sample size.

2 Responses to “the 19 twink warlock”

  1. Flyv Says:

    Wow, that’s some really amazing data analysis. There’s a lot of meaning in the resulting data.

    The biggest surprise to me is how few Heirloom items show up. Is that because you have pre-3.0 twinks in the mix? Or are the items just not so good? I know the weapons aren’t great, but I’d expect to see more shoulders and trinkets.

    BTW, if you ever need some coding help or want to kick around data analysis ideas, drop me an email.

  2. zardoz Says:

    Cheers. I’ve got plenty of ideas for more things to do with the data – more ideas than time at the moment. I’ll write some of it up in an email when I get a chance.

    All toons in the sample are post-patch-3.0.9. I think the main issue is that, for twinks, “popular” and “good” aren’t the same thing. Some of the most effective gear may be the most difficult to obtain and therefore less popular. Enchants likewise; especially when some of the enchants only work due to mistakes by Blizz.

    For most of my reports, I filter out the less popular choices because they just represent a long tail of players who have made oddball choices. That may be a mistake for twinks so I’m playing with the database queries at the moment to see what happens with less aggressive filtering.


Leave a Reply

