appetite for destruction

January 11, 2010

… seems to be running at about 4%. But more on that in a second. I’ve updated my Google App Engine site for patch 3.3. Some of the twink reports are a bit iffy because of the small sample size so I’ll refresh them again next week when I’ve got more data. Not a lot of people playing level 59 twink Shaman, it would seem.

Meanwhile, I’ve added a couple of new general reports, including the ever-popular class distribution table. This time, I’ve added a view of the overall popularity of the 3 talent trees within each class. Note that the percentages for each tree are based on the total level 80 population and not on the count of the class. Destruction warlocks are 3.9%, which means 3.9% of all level 80 toons are destruction warlocks. And the query is based on the active spec, where the toon has dual specs. I’m hoping that, statistically speaking, the sample is playing with their preferred spec.

Class Popularity Tree 1 Tree 2 Tree 3
Paladin 15.4% Holy:

4.2%

Protection:

4.8%

Retribution:

6.3%

Death Knight 14.0% Blood:

6.1%

Frost:

3.9%

Unholy:

4.1%

Druid 11.5% Balance:

2.9%

Feral Combat:

4.1%

Restoration:

4.5%

Priest 9.8% Discipline:

2.7%

Holy:

3.4%

Shadow:

3.7%

Warrior 9.4% Arms:

2.9%

Fury:

2.6%

Protection:

3.9%

Mage 8.7% Arcane:

4.0%

Fire:

2.2%

Frost:

2.5%

Shaman 8.4% Elemental:

2.9%

Enhancement:

2.0%

Restoration:

3.5%

Hunter 8.1% Beast Mastery:

2.1%

Marksmanship:

2.2%

Survival:

3.7%

Rogue 7.4% Assassination:

4.1%

Combat:

2.8%

Subtlety:

0.5%

Warlock 7.4% Affliction:

2.1%

Demonology:

1.4%

Destruction:

3.9%

So we have the retribution pally as the most popular at 6.3% down to the subtlety rogue the least popular at 0.5%.

Comparing this to what we had last time, the most notable thing is the decline of the hunter. Paladins and DKs continue to rule. And not a lot of love for the rogue or the warlock.

9 Responses to “appetite for destruction”

  1. Epicsnakehips Says:

    Shocked at the bottom 3 really. All I ever see are rogues and hunters, infact I see them more as they are the buggers that keep killing me. I am happy to be playing the lowest loved spec then, I’m not mainstream and kind of koky and retro …. go moi 🙂

    nice job on the updates btw.

  2. zardoz Says:

    Now that’s an interesting point – I wonder if the class balance is different on PvP realms? Let me see if I can get an answer to that.

  3. ptw Says:

    I wonder if it’s possible to further filter the results to see which characters are active or used a lot.

    For example, only lvl 80’s who have more than 500 emblems earned, or who have defeated an ICC or perhaps a ToC boss.

  4. zardoz Says:

    That’s a surprisingly difficult problem to solve! I’d love to split the dataset into mains, alts, bank mules, abandoned toons etc etc. Unfortunately there is no simple time-played tag in the data. To do it requires introducing assumptions into my queries which strikes me as the wrong thing to do – we should be starting from the data, not from what we think the data should mean. But I understand that it’s an important question – what players are doing with their active characters is the real question.

  5. erroneous Says:

    If Paladins, DKs, Druids, and Warriors make up 4 of the 5 most popular classes, how come I can still never find a tank??? 🙂

  6. Isk Says:

    To the above issue –

    Could you sort characters by item ilevel? If a character has an average ilevel >232, for example, would eliminate a decent chunk of abandoned/unplayed 80s.

  7. zardoz Says:

    I haven’t looked much at iLevel, but I will see what happens when I use it. The toon’s raiding stats and achievements can also be used for a similar thing, but gear iLevel might work as a simpler proxy for all that.

  8. Zigi Says:

    @erroneous – I actually was thinking the same thing. Obviously the Prot Pallies and Prot Warriors can safely be assumed to be tanks, but Feral Druids, and pretty much all 3 DK specs can go either way. I wonder if there are specific talents that could be used in each tree to determine whether people are spec’d for tanking or dps, and make another map onto this that distinguishes beteween Feral Kitty and Feral Bear, for example.

    As for “activity” there is a displayed “last updated” time on the HTML version of the armory at least.

    Anyway, keep up the amazing work zardoz.

  9. zardoz Says:

    Thanks Zigi.

    I’ve looked at sorting tanks by spec – it doesn’t work so well since there are lots of subtle variants on the main tanking x/y/z specs and you end up with a big grey area.

    The last-updated date in the armoury is only of limited use. I do filter out toons that haven’t been played for a while. But beyond that we really want to know which toons are doing the big stuff and which ones are just hangin’ around the AH and the bank. Not always easy to tell since formerly active toons can be “parked” for a while and then played again.


Leave a Reply

